10 Questions with Janet Evanovich

The ChaseMy guest today is Janet Evanovich, author of The Chase, a suspense novel that came out today. Please scroll down to enjoy our interview.

1.      Ms. Evanovich, thank you for this opportunity to be interviewed for my blog. THE CHASE, the newest thriller in the Fox and O’Hare series, came out today. Tell us a bit more about this book.

I like to think of The Chase as primarily a roller coaster ride through some of the world’s most exotic locations.  There’s humor, there’s action and there’s a touch of romance.

2.      Who are Fox and O’Hare, and where did you find the inspiration for these characters?

Nick Fox is a con man who has made a career of outsmarting FBI Special Agent Kate O’Hare.  We first meet them in the previous book, The Heist.  After many thwarted attempts, Kate’s finally able to catch him.  But just as she’s about the have the satisfaction of seeing him sent to prison for a long, long time, her FBI bosses offer Nick a deal — he can avoid prison if he can catch the really bad guys.  It worked so well the first time, the FBI wants them to team up again in The Chase.  For inspiration, I guess I go back to some earlier literary characters like Nick and Nora Charles from  Dashiell Hammett’s The Thin Man.  I love snappy repartee.

3.      How do you ensure your plots and your stories are always fresh and new?

My co-author, Lee Goldberg, and I first like to come up with a big crime and then put Nick and Kate in the most outrageous situations we can.  We use a lot of tongue in cheek humor.

4.      What is it like to work with another co-author? How do you divide the writing process?

It’s a lot of fun.  After we have plotted the book, Lee starts and sends me pages.  I re-write those pages until we get a rhythm going.

5.      You’ve tried your hand at romance and mystery novels. What are your favorite and least favorite things about each genre?

I can’t really say that I have a least favorite thing about either genre.  I started in romance and still adore a good love story.  I occasionally write a pure romance (most recently, The Husband List last year) and really enjoy building up a relationship between a man and a woman.  As far as mystery is concerned, I’ve always liked writing about a character (or characters) solving a puzzling crime.  I consider most of my books to be a combination of mystery, romance, adventure and humor.

6.      What are your thoughts on the latest publishing industry developments, mainly the rise of the self-publishing?

I’m happy for anyone who finishes a book — it’s a really hard job.  With the way publishing is changing, self-publishing is great for writers who don’t want to wait for years going through the agent search process that is required if one wants to publish with conventional publishers.  I’m sensitive to that because it took me three completed manuscripts and 10 years before I made my first sale.

7.      What are your favorite pastimes?

I write nearly all day, seven days a week, but will often take a bit of time each day to take a walk on the beach.  I also like hanging out with my family.

8.      Had your writing not worked out, what would you have wanted to do?

Sit on a piano in a slinky red dress and sing Abba songs.

9.      What are your writing habits? Outlines or not?

I used to outline pretty diligently (which I still recommend to beginning writers).   Now, once I figure out the plot of a book, I can pretty much find my way to the end without getting lost.

10.     What is your next book in the Fox and O’Hare series going to be about?

I honestly don’t know at this point.  My next book is the next Stephanie Plum — Top Secret Twenty-One, which will be in stores on June 17.  I only write one book at a time, so I’ll have to finish that one before figuring out what to write next.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

