Friday’s Writing Advice from James Conway

James ConwayToday’s writing advice comes from James Conway, author of The Last Trade, a great financial thriller:

Kurt Vonnegut and E.L. Doctorow told me the same thing at separate times: write every day, even if it’s a sentence, or a paragraph, or a journal entry. And don’t make excuses about your job or how busy you are. Stop talking about it and just write. It’s amazing how soon the daunting, seemingly never-ending journey to the completion of a novel can turn into progress and momentum and completion. And love it. After my third novel came extremely close to publication and interest waned, I accepted the fact that I would never get published. But I knew that I would continue writing anyway. A year later I finished THE FUTURIST and sold it within 24 hours.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

