Ethan Jones Books

10 Questions with Jeremy Robinson

My guest today is Jeremy Robinson, author of The Last Hunter – Lament (Book 4 of the Antarktos Saga), that came out in July. Please scroll down to enjoy his interview.

Who is Jeremy Robinson?

Jeremy Robinson was born in the sometimes mysterious seacoast town of Beverly, Massachusetts. From a young age his father fostered a love for Science Fiction. He grew up on thick doses of Superman, Batman, X-men, Dr. Who, Battlestar Galactica, Star Wars, Star Trek and Godzilla—creative fuel for the future.

Robinson is now the author of numerous novels (nearly twenty) including the highly praised SECONDWORLD, as well as PULSE, INSTINCT, and THRESHOLD the first three books in his exciting Jack Sigler series, which is also the focus of and expanding series of co-authored novellas deemed the Chesspocalypse. Robinson also known as the #1 Amazon.com horror writer, Jeremy Bishop, author of THE SENTINEL and the controversial novel, TORMENT. His novels have been translated into ten languages. He lives in New Hampshire with his wife and three children.

10 Questions with Jeremy Robinson

Mr. Robinson, thank you for this opportunity to be interviewed for my blog. Your new thriller, The Last Hunter – Lament, came out in July 2012. Tell us a bit more about this work.

The Last Hunter – Lament is the fourth book in a five book series following Solomon Ull Vincent – the Last Hunter. I can’t say much about book 4 without giving away the rest of the story, but it is my personal favorite of all my books. Book 1 starts with Solomon visiting Antarctica (where he was born), being kidnapped and taken to a horrific subterranean world where he is broken, corrupted and turned into a “hunter.” After that, well, you’ll just have to read it to find out. The first book in the series is The Last Hunter – Descent.

Who is Solomon Ull Vincent, the Last Hunter, and how did you go about creating his character?

Solomon is actually based in part on me as a kid. The first book starts out in the mid-eighties and Solomon’s age matches my own during that time. So we have the same interests, tastes and habits. But his personality and name actually come from my son, Solomon, who is not just living up to the kind, forgiving and brave character I created for the series, but inspiring him. I think that’s why I like writing Solomon so much. As an amalgam of me and my son, I know him very well.

How do you go about imagining and creating a fantasy world of your own? What sort of research goes into all this effort?

The research I do for The Last Hunter series involves focuses primarily on what is in/from the real world. Solomon is a scientific person, so his science has to be right. A lot of the mythology in the story is based on real myths, so I need to be accurate there. And just about all the weapons in the story, both modern and ancient, are real weapons, so I have to constantly study how weapons are built and used. Most of the research is done on the fly, though, since that’s how I’m writing the books. No outlines. I’m just letting it flow. So when I come to a topic I don’t know a lot about, I take a break, do some research and come back.

How did it happen that you wanted to become a writer?

I started out as a comic book illustrator, which led to me writing comics and the epiphany that I wasn’t an artist because I loved art, it was because I was a storyteller. All of my illustrations told stories. So I started writing and didn’t look back. And now I’m a professional illustrator and writer.

A word of advice for new writers?

Be prepared for the long haul. A lot of writers give up after their first novel, but it takes most authors ten years and multiple books to get published. It took me ten years and five novels, which I self-published, to get a publisher’s interest. Expecting immediate results will always lead to disappointment. It’s a highly competitive industry and if you’re not willing to put in the time—serious time—then you’re really just wasting your time.

What is your typical writing day?

I work 9 – 5 and sometimes nights if things are tight. Mornings are usually spent working on marketing or business related tasks and in the afternoon, I pump out two chapters, up to 4000 words.

What are your favorite pastimes?

I’m a sci-fi nerd and gamer junky, so if I’m not writing I can usually be found watching a movie or playing a video game. That’s during office hours, though. I have three kids, so non-work time is kid time, which is great because it’s an excuse to play like a kid again and not get crazy stares from anyone who sees me doing voices for action figures.

What other books are you working on at the moment?

I’m currently writing my giant monster story, Project Nemesis, which will be out before Christmas. I’m also editing Island 731, which will be out in hardcover in Spring 2013 and putting the finishing touches on Ragnarok, the fourth Jack Sigler/Chess Team novel, which will be out on October 23. When I’m done with Project Nemesis, I’ll start writing The Last Hunter – Onslaught, the final book in that series. Lots of books!

What do you like to read and what are you reading now?

I’m currently reading A.I Apocalypse by William Hertling, the second book in the Singularity series. Good high-tech, end of the world reading.

What can readers expect to find in The Last Hunter – Lament?

As the title suggests, this is not an easy book for Solomon. That said, he has some direction, a goal and for the first time we really get to see him be proactive in the conflict facing the entire world. But there are consequences for his actions, and they take a toll. Can’t say anymore than that. J

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Knite Writes

The Official Blog of Therin Knite

JOSEF BLACK

OFFICIAL WEBSITE & BLOG

erinandcraigbooks

Erin and Craig Books

Not The Baseball Pitcher

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,195 other followers

